Yesterday, the U.S. Department of Labor announced a new award program for federal contractors – the Excellence in Disability Inclusion (EDI) Award.

About the Disability Inclusion (EDI) Award

Established by the Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) and the Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP), the EDI Award recognizes federal contractors who go above and beyond to recruit, hire, retain, and advance individuals with disabilities in the workplace.

Why Should You Apply?

Official program medallion of the Department of Labor's Excellence in Disability Award featuring a centrally located star and the message EDI AwardIn addition to presenting an opportunity for federal contractors to be recognized for their disability-inclusion efforts, the EDI Award will help showcase successful programs and best practices that others can emulate.

While also being recognized for excellence in disability inclusion, EDI Gold Award recipients will receive a three-year moratorium from OFCCP compliance evaluations.

Who is Eligible for the Award?

Federal contractors must meet four eligibility requirements to receive the EDI Award. Eligibility also is contingent on current good standing related to compliance with three equal employment opportunity laws: Executive Order 11246, Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Section 503), and the Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended (VEVRAA).

How Do You Apply?

The 2019 application process is now underway! We greatly encourage our Members to apply for the award and gain recognition for their efforts.

Share This